Watching your playing partners ball

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Favorite Golfer:
    Fred Couples
Favorite Golf Course:
    Goose Creek

RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Saturday November 10, 2018 5:03 AM
When I started playing golf in the 80's I was taught it was very important to watch your partners ball. I live by that rule. If I am riding, I get out of the cart and stand behind him so I can see the ball. If we walk we are most likely not close, but when he is hitting I stop walking to my ball and watch, no matter if I am in front of him, in back if him, or on the other side of the fairway. I have been playing with the same guys for several years now and we really like to walk, but the last few months are so frustrating because I still do my thing about watching them, but they just are so involved with their own game that they don't watch me. 3 times yesterday alone I hit the ball and said "I didn't see it" and none of them were watching, I cost me penalty strokes, 2 of which I probably deserved but one was bouncing from the adjacent fairway into ours and I could find it and they didn't see it and didn't even help me look for it. I mentioned before the round we have to watch others ball because of the high winds yesterday, well kind of worked off the tee, but then nothing, finally on 17 it happened again and one guy was within 10 yards of me and didn't watch, I finally said something but really don't think it sunk in. How diligent are you watching your partners ball, especially when walking?
 Message #89846
sngernz
RE: Watching your playing partners ball

Favorite Golfer:
    Bubba!
Favorite Golf Course:
    Spyglass Hill

Saturday November 10, 2018 7:14 AM
I always try to keep an eye on my playing partners ball ... always. It's just common courtesy and can really help with PoP.

Some peeps just live in their own world, oblivious to what's going on right in front of them ... unfortunately, in life and even on the golf course.