Click To View Golf Course Page

Discussions in General Golf Discussions
Moderated By CPennbo, JohnnyGK, kviser, Paisano, ringworld, thingstodo

Forums
Golfing
General Golf Discussions
Ruling question
YOUR SETTINGSLIST FORUMSLIST TOPICSSEARCH

TOPIC: Ruling question

PRINT TOPICSEND THIS TO A FRIEND

Listing 1 to 8 of 8 Replies

PAGES: 1
hammer74
Ruling question
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    September 9, 2007


Favorite Golfer:
    couples
Favorite Golf Course:
    Pebble, Pelican


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 3:58 AM
player A and B both on the putting surface.
Player A is 25 ft away from the hole. Player b is about 4 ft.

both players did not notice the other person and stroked their respective putts. Since player b is closer, his ball stop short of the hole and player A's ball was still trekking and hit player B's ball and B's ball went in the hole.

it was a casual round and we just laughed it off

but what would be the ruling?
REPLY
 Message #84416
leef2020
RE: Ruling question
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    March 26, 2016


Favorite Golfer:
    Jack & Jordan
Favorite Golf Course:
    Baltusrol


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 4:28 AM
Did you both tee off simultaneously, as well?
REPLY
 Message #84417 - This was a reply to message #84416
evildrummerhb
RE: Ruling question

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    June 5, 2009


Favorite Golfer:
    Hunter, Phil, Freddie C.
Favorite Golf Course:
    Emerald Canyon


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 4:57 AM
I'm pretty sure about this...player A is considered to have holed out, and can then ask player B to replay his putt from the original location with no penalty.

If a rules guru thinks that's wrong please let me know.

Edit: I mixed up who holed out. Forget the part about A's ball being holed out. A gets to make B replay his stroke.

[[Edited by evildrummerhb on Monday June 26, 2017 4:59 AM]]
REPLY
 Message #84418 - This was a reply to message #84416
RDDenn
RE: Ruling question

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    September 22, 2006


Favorite Golfer:
    N/A
Favorite Golf Course:
    Barona Creek


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 10:11 AM
The quote below is from a Rules discussion on the Newark Golf Club website.

"Rule 19-5a states: - If a player's ball is deflected or stopped by a ball in play, and at rest, the player must play the ball as it lies.

In Matchplay, there is no penalty.

In Strokeplay, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes."

The same discussion noted that the ball that was hit by the other ball must be replaced under rule 18 something.
REPLY
 Message #84419 - This was a reply to message #84416
hammer74
RE: Ruling question
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    September 9, 2007


Favorite Golfer:
    couples
Favorite Golf Course:
    Pebble, Pelican


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 11:31 PM
thanks guys!
REPLY
 Message #84421 - This was a reply to message #84419
putt4doughorelse
RE: Ruling question
Member Since:
    January 10, 2009


Favorite Golfer:
    Me, Jack, John, Phil, Lee
Favorite Golf Course:
    Birmingham Country Club


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Monday June 26, 2017 11:40 PM
I believe the rule is different when the players are both on the green.
REPLY
 Message #84422 - This was a reply to message #84419
sngernz
RE: Ruling question

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    January 24, 2005


Favorite Golfer:
    Bubba!
Favorite Golf Course:
    Spyglass Hill


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday June 27, 2017 12:10 AM
I'll add my 2 cents ... in Match Play, Rule 10-1.c (Playing Out of Turn) is clear: player A can have B replay his putt. However, one could argue that B violated Rule 16-1.f (Making Stroke While Another Ball in Motion) and would lose the hole. I'd guess that's debatable depending on who hit their ball first. Honestly, I'm not sure.

Stroke play is somewhat fuzzy to me. 16-1.f would not penalize player A because it was his turn to play. I'm not sure about B but Rule 19-5.b (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by another ball in motion) says the player's stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed, without penalty.

It would help if there was a Decision based on this circumstance but I couldn't find one ... and I have to get back to work

I hope that helped.
REPLY
 Message #84423 - This was a reply to message #84419
evildrummerhb
RE: Ruling question

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    June 5, 2009


Favorite Golfer:
    Hunter, Phil, Freddie C.
Favorite Golf Course:
    Emerald Canyon


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday June 27, 2017 5:22 AM
Yeah, that's where my explanation stemmed from, the playing out of turn issue. Should have made that clear. It almost makes what happened afterwards irrelevant. I still feel A plays his next putt from where it ended up and A makes B replay his putt. Since there was no intent by either player to use one another's golf balls as outside agencies, I don't see the need for a penalty.
REPLY
 Message #84424 - This was a reply to message #84423

Listing 1 to 8 of 8 Replies

PAGES: 1

[ Community Page ]